Program Committee

Share it now

ESLsyn 2014
The 2014 Electronic System Level Synthesis Conference

May 31 - June 1, 2014
San Francisco, CA, USA

co-located with DAC!


General Chair:
Achim Rettberg, University of Oldenburg, Germany

Achim Rettberg received his M.S. (Dipl.-Inform.) in computer science and economics in 1997 and his Ph. D. (Dr. rer. nat.) degree in 2006 from the University of Paderborn, Germany. where he studied computer science and economics. He graduated in 1997. From 1992 until 1997 he was employed as a working student for the University of Paderborn and C-LAB. From 1997 until 2000 he worked at C-LAB in industrial projects together with dSPACE and Siemens. From 2001 until 2006 he worked as a Ph.D. student and researcher for the C-LAB in the field of embedded system design. Afterwards he worked from 2007 until 2008 as Post-Doc at C-LAB and managed EU-Projects. In 2008 he became professor of complex integrated systems/embedded systems at the Computer Science department at Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. Prof. Rettberg is founder and General Chair of the International Embedded Systems Symposium (IESS). Furthermore, he is active in several conference/workshop committees and reviewers for journals. Prof. Rettberg is author and co-author of several scientific books, journal articles and conference papers. His general research interests are model-based design, real-time systems and HW/SW architectures. He is Chair of IFIP working group 10.2 "Embedded Systems". In 2013 Prof. Rettberg is General Chair of ESLSyn, ISORC and IESS.


Program Co-Chair:

Benjamin Carrion Schafer, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Dr. Benjamin Carrion Schafer received the B.Eng. degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from the Polytechnic University of Madrid, Spain, the M.Sc. degree in Microelectronics from Birmingham City University, U.K., and FH-Darmstadt, Germany. After completing his Ph.D. at the University of Birmingham, U.K., he worked in the Computer Science Department at the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) as a Postdoctoral Researcher from 2003 to 2004. He then joined the School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science at Seoul National University, Korea, as a Visiting Research Scholar from 2005 to 2007. From 2007 until September 2012, he had been working as a  researcher at System IP Core Department, Central R&D Center, NEC Corporation, Kawasaki, Japan.  Since 2012 he works as an assistant professor at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University.

Dr. Carrion Schafer has been engaged in the research and development of VLSI systems, reconfigurable computing, thermal-aware VLSI design and High Level Synthesis (HLS). He served on the TPC of CASES 2006 and as a committee member at the RECONFIG, DAC (user track) and ESLSyn conferences. He was also a member of OSCI's (Accellera) SystemC synthesizable user group committee. He holds an MBA from McGill University.


Program Co-Chair:

Christian Haubelt, University of Rostock, Germany

Christian Haubelt received his diploma degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Paderborn, Germany, in 2001. He finished his Ph.D. in Computer Science and his Habilitation (postdoctoral lecture qualification) in Computer Engineering at University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, in 2005 and 2010, respectively. From 2010 to 2011, he was a substitute professor of Computer Engineering at the University of Potsdam, Germany. Since 2011, he is full professor of Embedded Systems at the University of Rostock, Germany. Christian Haubelt co-authored more than 100 scientific publications and has been a member of multiple program committees of well-known conferences and workshops. His research interests include electronic system level design, system level design automation, and multi-objective optimization.


Steering Committee:
Achim Rettberg, University of Oldenburg, Germany
Adam Morawiec, ECSI, France
Christian Haubelt, University of Rostock, Germany
Benjamin Carrion Schafer, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Program Committee:
David Black, Doulos
Christophe Bobda, University of Arkansas
Jens Brandt, Technical Univ of Kaiserslautern
Patricia Derler, UC Berkeley
Abdoulaye Gamatie, LIRMM
Thierry Gautier, IRISA
Joachim Gerlach, Albstadt-Sigmaringen University
Andreas Gerstlauer, University of Texas
Christoph Grimm, TU Kaiserslautern
Kim Grüttner, OFFIS
Yuko Hara-Azumi, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Jorn Janneck, Lund University
Niraj K. Jha, Princeton University
Taemin Kim, Intel Labs
Marcio Kreutz, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte
Luciano Lavagno, Politecnico di Torino
Frédéric Mallet, INRIA
Adam Morawiec, ECSI
Stephen Neuendorffer, Xilinx
Bernhard Niemann, Fraunhofer
Hiren Patel, University of Waterloo
Dumitru Potop-Butucaru,  INRIA
Doemer Rainer, UC Irvine
Eric Rutten, INRIA
Andres Takach, Calypto
David Thomas, Imperial College London
Hiroyuki Tomiyama, Ritsumeikan University
Eugenio Villar, University of Cantabria
Zhiru Zhang, Cornell University

Share it now